Kathryn L. Pruitt



Kathryn L. Pruitt joined McCathern to lead the firm’s Family Law Section in 2017. She is Board Certified in Family Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization, a distinguished mark of practice area knowledge and experience that is held by less than 1% of all lawyers in Texas.

Kathryn has successfully tried numerous cases before judges and juries, including divorce, property division, custody, custody modification, termination of parental rights, and enforcement cases. Before specializing in family law, she spent several years protecting the rights of defendants and victims in catastrophic personal injury cases.

Her core focus is on individuals and families in Collin County, Denton County, and Dallas County facing difficult family law issues including divorce, child custody/parenting time disputes, child support, complex property division, paternity determinations, premarital and post-marital agreements, enforcement or modification of orders, and other related areas. Kathryn has successfully tried numerous cases before judges and juries making her both trial-tested and a skilled negotiator. She is prepared to advocate aggressively in court if a fair agreement cannot be reached through negotiation or mediation.

Kathryn graduated cum laude from South Texas College of Law in 1993 and obtained a Bachelor of Arts in English and a minor in Biology from the University of Texas at Austin in 1988. She was admitted to the State Bar of Texas in 1993 and is a member of several legal organizations, including the Texas Academy of Family Law Specialists, Texas Family Law Foundation, Collin County Bar Association (CCBA), Denton County Bar Association (DCBA), and the Dallas Bar Association (DBA). She is also a well-published author of family law articles for the State Bar of Texas and Dallas Bar Association and frequently speaks at legal conferences and seminars.

Kathryn was recently selected among the 2016 Best Lawyers in America for Family Law. In addition, she was selected to the Texas Rising Stars list in 2005 through 2007 and to the Texas Super Lawyers list in 2011 through 2016.


  • Texas Board of Legal Specialization